
Criminal Records and 
Expungement 

Rhode Island Public Defender



Criminal Records 
• How do I access a criminal record?

– The only way to obtain an official RI criminal record is by going 
to the Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) at the Attorney 
General’s Office on 150 South Main Street Providence, RI 
02903. 

• Bring $5.00 in check or money order and photo ID to obtain a copy 
of the record. If an individual is disabled or 62 years old or older, 
bring a copy of a proof of disability (for example, a SSI/SSDI award 
letter) or a photo ID showing age to have the $5.00 fee waived.

• If a third party is accessing the record, s/he will need a signed and 
notarized consent and photocopy of photo ID, and the fee.

• If you have a bench warrant, you will be detained at BCI. Confirm 
that you do not have a bench warrant with the Clerk’s Office or with 
your attorney before going to BCI.

– Criminal records can also be viewed online at the RI Judiciary 
Website: courtconnect.courts.ri.gov. These, however, are not the 
official records. 



Criminal Records (cont’d)
– Often, employers see criminal records through private criminal 

background checks. Under the Fair Credit and Reporting Act, 
applicants have the right to see copies of the background check 
that is used by the employer in making an adverse hiring 
decision. Since these sometimes have errors, it is important to 
review this record to be sure it is accurate!

– Individuals can also obtain copies of their national fingerprint 
check (VCIF) at the AG’s BCI office if they are applying for 
specific types of jobs in Rhode Island such as work as nurses, 
massage therapists, or as employees at alarm and private 
security companies and school departments, among others. 
These checks cost $35.00. 



Definition 1: “Conviction”
A conviction is a sentence by a judge of a period of 

confinement (incarceration at the ACI or home 
confinement), suspended sentence, or fine. Any 
plea of guilty or finding of guilt by a judge or jury is 
also a conviction. 

• Common misconceptions: 
– Pleading ‘nolo contendere’ is not a conviction. 

Incorrect: “Nolo contendere” is a plea, a position taken by the 
defendant related to their criminal charges, and a conviction is a 
sentence by a judge or jury. Pleading “nolo contendere” does not 
automatically mean that a person will not be convicted of a 
charge.

– A sentence of straight probation is a conviction.
Incorrect: A period of straight probation (i.e. without suspended 

jail time or a fine) imposed after a plea of nolo contendere is not a 
conviction. 



Definition 1: “Conviction”

Can I be asked: “Have you ever been 
arrested?” by an employer?
– No, it is illegal for an employer to ask this 

question in Rhode Island.
• Can I be asked: “Have you ever been 

convicted of a crime?” by an employer?
– On July 15, 2013, Governor Chafee signed 

into law “Ban the Box.” As of January 1, 2014, 
an employer cannot ask this question on initial 
job applications. 



Definition 2: “Expungement”
Expungement is a legal procedure that allows eligible 

individuals to have any and all records relating to their 
criminal charges removed, both from public records and 
those of law enforcement agencies. It is granted by a 
judge in the original court in which the charge was heard. 

Expungement is different from sealing a record, which may 
occur after a defendant has been exonerated of a 
charge, however sometimes these terms are used 
interchangeably and the practical consequences are 
very similar.

See Rhode Island General Law sections 12-1-12, 
12-1-12.1, 12-1.3-1 to 12-1.3-4, the sections on 
expungement and sealing in RI law.



Eligibility

• 3 Central Questions:
– Are you a first-time offender?
– Have you not been convicted of a ‘crime of 

violence’?
– Have you waited the required period?

In order to be eligible for expungement, you 
must be able to answer “yes” to all three of 
the above questions



Eligibility
• 3 Central Questions:

– Are you a first-time offender?
• The law defines a “first offender” as follows: a person 

who has not been previously convicted of or placed on 
probation for a felony or a misdemeanor and against 
whom there is no criminal proceeding pending in any 
court.

• Anyone convicted or placed on probation on more than 
one occasion is ineligible for expungement.

– Have you not been convicted of a ‘crime of 
violence’?

– Have you waited the required period?



First-Time Offender Exception for 
Prostitution Charges

Prostitution or Loitering for Prostitution cases 
charged on or after November 3, 2009 can 
be expunged one year after completion of 
sentence (RIGL 11-34.1-5) even if person 
does not meet the definition of “first-time 
offender”.



Eligibility

• 3 Central Questions:
– Are you a first-time offender?
– Have you not been convicted of a ‘crime of violence’?

• A ‘crime of violence’ is defined as 
Murder, manslaughter, first degree arson, kidnapping with 
intent to extort, robbery, larceny from the person, first degree 
sexual assault, second degree sexual assault, first and second 
degree child molestation, assault with intent to murder, assault 
with intent to rob, assault with intent to commit first degree 
sexual assault, burglary, and entering a dwelling house with 
intent to commit murder, robbery, sexual assault, or larceny.

– Have you waited the required period?



Eligibility
• 3 Central Questions:

– Are you a first-time offender?

– Have you not been convicted of a ‘crime of violence’?

– Have you waited the required period?
• For misdemeanors - (5) years after the successful completion (no 

intervening convictions, probation, or pending cases) of your 
sentence and/or probation.

• For felonies - (10) years after the successful completion (no 
intervening convictions, probation, or pending cases) of your 
sentence and/or probation

• For filings – you will have to wait one (1) full year to file a motion, 
unless it is a domestic violence filing, in which case you will have to 
wait three (3) years.  This is supposed to be automatic, but in 
practice you should follow-up yourself. (RIGL 12-10-12)

• For deferred sentences -- if you plead guilty or nolo contendere and 
received a deferred sentence, you must wait five (5) years without 
any further charges and you will be eligible for expungement. If you 
plead to this charge before 2010, contact an attorney about the 
process to expunge this charge.



A final question:
• Was your case dismissed (48A), was there a no true bill, no 

information or were you otherwise exonerated? 
If yes, you still have to file a motion to seal/motion to expunge! 

– A common misconception is that a dismissal (48A) is the same 
thing as an expungement. This is not true. If your case is 
dismissed, you will still have to file for expungement.

If yes, AND you have not been convicted of a felony, this 
charge and all associated records must come off your 
record by law (RIGL   12-1-12.1), no matter how many 
misdemeanor convictions you may have. 

• If you have a previous felony charge and are looking to expunge a 
dismissed case, you should consult a criminal defense lawyer to 
evaluate your eligibility .

Eligibility



Procedure
• The expungement process can take several months to 

complete. 
• STEP 1: Obtain your records from BCI and confirm 

eligibility.
• STEP 2: File a motion with the clerk (this form is 

available at the clerk’s office in each court house) at the 
original court house where charges were brought. At this 
time, you will be given a court date.*

* For assistance, call Emmett Hardiman at the Public 
Defender’s Office  (222-1525) – we will help you through 
this process and try to answer any questions you may 
have. 



Procedure

• STEP 3: Give notice of date of hearing to police 
department that arrested you and the Department 
of the Attorney General. If it is an old charge, you 
may want to go to the Judicial Records Center 
located at 5 Hill Street in Pawtucket (721-2641) to 
get the old arrest records yourself in order to speed 
up the process. This costs $3.00 per case for a 
certified copy. 
– Sometimes the clerk will take care of this for 

you, so you should ask what you should do next.

“Clerks rule the world” 



Procedure

• STEP 4: Go to your court date and be 
ready to prove that you :
– are a first-time offender
– have not committed a ‘crime of violence’
– exhibit good moral character
– have been successfully rehabilitated,
– AND, that the expungement of your record is 

consistent with the public interest.



Process
• What does “good moral character” and 

“successful rehabilitation” mean?
– Ultimately, this is decided by the judge, but here are 

some suggestions about ways to demonstrate 
rehabilitation and moral character.
Proof of… 
o Regular employment and financial and other 
support of family
o Successful completion of substance abuse and/or 
mental health counseling.
o Community or other public service
o Professional certification or licensing in field of 
employment



Procedure
• STEP 5: If the judge grants your motion to 

expunge, you must mail a copy of the order to 
the Attorney General’s Office and to the police 
department that brought your charge. Keep the 
original. 
– You also will be charged $100.00 for the court 

processing costs (unless the motion to expunge was 
for a dismissed charge or you were acquitted). This 
fee may be waived if you are represented by the RI 
Public Defender. 

• STEP 6: Make sure the paperwork was 
processed. A month or two after the motion is 
granted, get an official copy of your BCI to 
confirm that your record was expunged.



Effects
• Once expungement is granted, you will no 

longer have to disclose that you were convicted 
of the charge that was expunged. 

• Exceptions:
– According to RIGL § 12-1 3-4 (b), any person who is 

an applicant for: 
• a law enforcement agency position
• admission to the bar of any court
• a teaching certificate or a coaching certificate
• the operator or employee of an early childhood educational 

facility
is required to disclose the fact of a conviction.



Effects
Just because expunged material is removed from 

public view does not mean that it disappears 
entirely.

Under RIGL § 12-1 3-4 (c), certain individuals or organizations have 
access to expunged records. These include:
– the individual whose record was expunged
– a sentencing court following the conviction of the individual for the 

commission of a different crime
– a bar agency which is considering a bar admission, character and 

fitness, or disciplinary matter
– the commissioner of elementary and secondary education
– any law enforcement agency when the nature and character of the 

offense with which an individual is to be charged would be affected by 
virtue of the person having been previously convicted of the same 
offense. 

– by order of a court 



Effects

• It is illegal for an organization or person to 
release or allow access to records which 
have been expunged and is if someone 
has done this they can be sued in civil 
court. (Section 12-1.3-4)



Questions?

• Contact:
Emmett Hardiman
Community Outreach Liaison
Rhode Island Public Defender
Phone: (401) 458-3057 (direct)
Fax: (401) 458-3110
Email: ehardiman@ripd.org


